To make dondakaya fry, you can slice them or chop them. I used my food processor to chop them and the vepudu gets done quickly since the veggie is chopped to small bites. Just wash and chop off the ends and add them to the food processor and pulse them a couple of times. I use my vepudu karam to spice up most of my stir fry veggies. You can just use some coconut or white sesame powder too. Some times we also use roasted peanut. But this time I used some left over chopped almonds. We usually eat this dondakaya fry with rice, sambar or rasam.

Preparation

  1. I used some fresh coconut and sesame seeds to add towards the end. You can also add any spiced powder or papula podi or this vepudu karam. I have also shared how to make your spiced powder in the recipe card. You can also just use coconut and skip that.
  2. Blend to a coarse mixture.

How to make dondakaya fry

  1. Heat oil in a kadai. Add mustard, cumin , dals, garlic and red chilli. When the dal turns golden, add curry leaves too.
  2. Next add in the chopped or sliced dondakaya pieces. Also add in turmeric and salt. I use a food processor to simply the task of slicing the veggies.
  3. Next begin to fry on a medium to low flame until soft. Keep stirring often. If needed cover and cook on a low flame.
  4. When the veggie turns soft, then add in the coconut. Mix and fry until it smells good.
  5. Sprinkle red chilli powder. You can also add in roasted peanuts at this stage.
  6. Next fry until the raw smell goes away. Serve dondakaya fry with rice. More dondakaya or tindora recipes,Dondakaya chutneyDondakaya curry For more simple stir fry recipes, checkbaby corn stir fryladies finger stir fry with peanutsraw banana fryelephant yam frysnake gourd stir frybottle gourd stir fry